Be Different

After you’re done reading this comment down below what you do or have done in your life that made you an outlier, thanks!

Outlier –  1. A person or thing situated away or detached from the main body or system.                                   2. A person or thing differing from all other members of a particular group or set.  

 

“Outliers are those who have been given opportunities, and who have had the strength and presence of mind to seize them.” – Malcolm Gladwell

 

This quote above comes from a book called Outliers which is written by Malcolm Gladwell. I myself haven’t read the book but if you are interested in reading about success and what makes high-achievers different then I would definitely check it out.

The first thing I want to talk to you about is going above and beyond. Sometimes you have to put in that extra effort and strive to be better than others so you can achieve something. If you have the opportunity to do something that’s going to make a positive impact on you, your future, or someone else then take it. It’s not going to hurt anything, it’s just going to make you better. I like to be an outlier when I’m in school. When we have a project assigned to us I like to do something different that not everyone does, and go the extra mile. Writing this blog makes me an outlier from everyone in my school. I go to a school with around only 200 kids, and I don’t know one that has a blog. Most of the kids in my school hate writing. They’re crazy right? No, but these are just some things that make me an outlier. A lot of the times we catch ourselves just following the crowd, doing whatever everyone else is doing. Being different isn’t a bad thing. In a world where so many people are the same way, you should strive to be different. I know I do, and I’m not talking about wearing a hot dog costume to school different, I’m talking about everyday things we do. Things like jobs and hobbies. If you are an outlier you will get noticed. I know that this is a big factor with college and jobs also. Think about it. A boss of some big company probably looks at hundreds of resumes, and I’m guessing that most of them are the same type of thing. The boss will look for something different, something that sticks out to him because he wants to see that you have taken different opportunities and paths than the rest of applicants. The same thing goes with college. They get the same old essay every year from hundreds of students saying the same things about their life and their extra curricular activities, why they should get into this certain college. They don’t want that. They are also looking for an outlier, because outliers show that they are independant and can take their own path in life to make them a successful person. Outliers aren’t doing things for others, they do it for themselves, and that’s really the key. I’m gonna leave you guys with this quote to remember.

“The only person you should try to be better than, is the person you were yesterday.” – Author Unknown

 

Thank you guys for reading and I hope you enjoyed, comment down below what you do in your life that makes you an outlier. Thanks!!!

Via: https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/outlier/

2 thoughts on “Be Different

Leave a Reply

